David Siegel’s Mega-Mansion put on hold


(architect’s rendering of Siegel Residence)

Timeshare mogul David Siegel and his wife Jacqueline have put the construction of their 15 bedroom, 88,000 square foot mega-mansion on hold. The home is located next to Lake Butler in Windermere, Florida. The mega-mansion, dubbed “Versailles” will be the largest private residence in America upon completion. The home has been under construction for some time now and has been going along good. David decided to slow down construction due to the ailing economy and the thousands of layoffs at his company. His wife Jacqueline also stated that they had to lay off some of their nannies and now only have 5. That must be really tough! Hopefully this monster of a home will be completed soon. I am dying to see what the interior of the home will look like. Maybe David could give a reporter an inside look at the home when it is finished. Also, if there are any Homes of the Rich readers who live in the Orlando area, do you think you could send me a picture of the home at its current state.

12 Responses to “David Siegel’s Mega-Mansion put on hold”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I live in Orlando, but that house is in a gated community, and I don’t expect it to be easy to get past whoever is at that guardhouse.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    That would be awesome to see some inside photos and outside ones in it’s current state. I think that this place will be amazing once it’s finished, but I hope that it isn’t tacky and too opulent or anything. But I can completely understand what he’s thinking by waiting to finish. It would seem odd to lay people off and all the while move into your 88,000 square foot monstrosity of a home. “Hey pal, can you spare me a dollar?” “Sorry, no, I’m using the last of my money to buy a pinball machine for my gameroom.”

  3. Kenny Says:

    Oh, I didn’t know the community it is being built in was gated. Yeah I agree, it wouldn’t be easy.

  4. Kenny Says:

    Lol. Yeah, he is smart in waiting to hold off on construction. He still has spent an amazing amount of money on building it though. I think if I stand corrected, the home is expected to cost him $150 million to build! That is just insane. I wouldn’t spend over $10 million on a home.

  5. Kieran Says:

    Yeah it would be amazing to see current inside and outside shots of this house. It is amazing, as rediculous as it is, I like how someone is building a home as big as the original east coast mansions (vanderbilts mansions) Its hard to see it looking as oppulent as the architects rending now while its in its current form, but homefully it will be. The staircase and swimming pool in this house are awinspiring, its a shame that video is no longer on youtube.
    I wish Jacqueline the best of luck managing with just five nannys. X

  6. Anonymous Says:

    It would be lovely to see the floor plans. What is in almost 90,000 square feet of living space? Just a dream.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I found this on another site… “This behemoth, also known as Versailles, is located on Butler Sound on over 10 acres and will house an 8,000 square foot master bedroom. That’s over 3 times the size of an average American home! It will also include a children’s wing, 30 bathrooms, 10 kitchens, a bowling alley, a movie theater inspired by the Paris Opera House, two elevators, underground parking for 40 cars and don’t forget the best part, an indoor roller rink. The total square footage is 88,198 square feet. This will be the largest single-building private residence in the United States.” I’d still like to see the floor plans.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Does anyone know who the architect or builder is for this nice warehouse?

  9. Jamie Says:

    Check out the recent article on her in a local magazine http://playground-magazine.com/2009/03/queen-of-versailles/ it has all the stats and the builder.

  10. Anonymous Says:

    That is an extremely fascinating article. I especially like this part “We used to have more(staff), but my husband thought we should cut back because of the bad economy and the layoffs he had to make at his company. He thought we should suffer too. We even have our kids doing chores now.”

    I’m shaking my head in disbelief.

  11. Anonymous Says:

    I’m sorry, but why in the hell is this house being built in…WINDERMERE?!

    There are only a few places in America to build a home of this size and scale. Palm Beach, Beverly Hills, The Hamptons, Greenwich,…not Windermere.

    It’s a nice town and all, but it’s nothing compared to the towns/communities mentioned above.

    Lake Butcrack…yah, that’s where I would build a dream estate. Give me a break.

  12. Anonymous Says:

    If they mothball it long enough,it would make a wonderful hangout for most of the street people of Orlando.
    [img]http://www.windermereroadies.com/temp/SeigelsHouseResized.jpg[/img]

Leave a Reply

